States of Consciousness

States of Consciousness

The Om symbol is also used in meditation as a symbolic representation of the four states of consciousness. The long lower curve represents the first state of consciousness, known as Vaishvanara, which is the waking state focused on the material world. The curve that emanates from the center represents the second state of consciousness, or Taijasa, which is the dreaming state focused inward on the mind. The upper curve represents the third state of consciousness, or Prajna, which is the dreamless state revealed by deep meditation. The crescent stands for the veil of material illusion that seekers must pass before achieving the fourth and final state, represented by the dot in the upper right. This is Turiya, the transcendental self, and the ultimate goal of Hindu meditation.


Say Your Peace Here

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s